Return of the King

Title: The Return of the King
Series: The Lord of the Rings Trilogy #3
Author: J.R.R. Tolkien

Other Works by Author:
The Hobbit
The Fellowship of the Ring
The Two Towers

Genres: Fantasy

My Rating: 4.5

Good for ages: 13+

Summary: The armies of the Dark Lord are massing as his evil shadow spreads ever wider. Men, Dwarves, Elves and Ents unite forces to do battle against the Dark. Frodo and Sam struggle further into Mordor in their heroic quest to destroy the One Ring. Meawhile all is not well in the Shire.

My Thoughts: I was slightly uncomfortable near the beginning because there is more magic in this book than in the others but it was a wonderful story nevertheless. I loved seeing how Merry and Pippin grew, how Aragorn came into his own, Frodo’s struggle and Sam’s devotion.

Every time I read one of these books I marvel at all the work Tolkien put into it. It is amazing and inspiring!

Confession with spoilers: I did watch the movies before I read this book. Someone lent them to us and I wasn’t going to hide in my room while my family watched it. I was shocked to find that the movie cut out the return to the Shire, they pretended that everything was the same as it ever was and there was no struggle or rebuilding to be done.

My Favorite Quotes:
~ “For like a shaft, clear and cold, the thought pierced him that in the end the Shadow was only a small and passing thing: there was light and high beauty for ever beyond its reach.”

~“Oft hope is born when all is forlorn.”

~ “His grief he will not forget; but it will not darken his heart, it will teach him wisdom.”

Where can you get this book: Amazon

Thank you for your thoughts they are greatly appreciated! Please keep in mind Ephesians 4:29: Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

