Emma

Title: Emma
Author: Jane Austen
Date Started: June 6, 2014

Other Works by Author:
Pride and Prejudice
Mansfield Park
Persuasion
Sense and Sensibility
Lady Susan
Northanger Abbey
Love and Friendship
Junvenilia – a collection of poems stories and plays

Genres: Fiction, Classic, Romance

My Rating: 5

Summary: Beautiful, clever, rich – and single – Emma Woodhouse is perfectly content with her life and sees no need for either love or marriage. Nothing, however, delights her more than interfering in the romantic lives of others. But when she ignores the warnings of her good friend Mr Knightley and attempts to arrange a suitable match for her protegee Harriet Smith, her carefully laid plans soon unravel and have consequences that she never expected.

Summary taken from Goodreads

My Thoughts: I am one of the very few people in my acquaintance that love this book. Most of the people I know find Emma irritating, I find her delightfully human and in many ways very similar to myself.
Emma is clever, witty, handsome, and liked by everyone, but she’s also spoiled and headstrong. Nearly everyone in town thinks her perfect and incapable of doing wrong except Mrs. Weston, formerly her governess, and Mr. Knightly (my favorite Austen hero, forget Mr. Darcy), he especially is not afraid to reprove her when he sees she’s out of line. With their help and seeing how certain events play out she learns that she is wrong and works to remedy her faults.

I find this story funny, romantic, and all round and enjoyable read.

Fun Facts: Jane Austen said when she began writing Emma, “I am going to take a heroine whom no one but myself will much like.”

My Favorite Quotes: “Emma knows I never flatter her,” said Mr. Knightley,

Where can you get this book: Amazon, Librivox,

Thank you for your thoughts they are greatly appreciated! Please keep in mind Ephesians 4:29: Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

