Book Review: Four Children’s stories by Max Lucado

I read four short stories by Max Lucado yesterday and decided to combine them into one blog post.

I think they are all cute stories with good messages for children and I look forward to one day sharing them with my children, when I have them.

Title: You Are Special
Author: Max Lucado
Date Started: June 10, 2014

 

Genres: Children’s, Christian

My Rating: 5

Summary: The Wemmicks give each other gold stars if they’re pretty or talented and grey dots if they’re ugly or plain. Punchinello has all grey dots which makes him sad, until one day he goes to visit the wood-carver

My Favorite Quotes:
That’s the way I want to be, though Punchinello. I don’t want anyone’s marks.

“Why don’t the stickers stay on her?”
The maker spoke softly. “Because she has decided that what I think is more important than what they think. The stickers only stick if you let them.”

Where can you get this book: Barnes and Noble

~

Title:  All You Ever Need

My Rating:  4

Summary: In a desert land a kind man shares the water from his well freely. But when he departs unexpectedly her servant decides that he will choose who is worthy to drink the water.

My Favorite Quotes:
“My Father’s water is a gift to all,” he said patiently.
“But Elzevir was cruel to us!”
“I know he was. But if water were given only to good people, who could drink?”
No one spoke.

Where can you get this book: Amazon

~

Title:  Just The Way You Are

My Rating:  5

Summary: Five orphans are informed that the kind wishes to adopt them and will be coming soon. The townspeople instruct them that they must have some great gift to impress the king. Four of them have talents and begin cultivating them but the fifth little girl can find nothing to do. When turned away by the others she returns to her task of caring for travelers animals where she unknowingly helps the king.

My Favorite Quotes: “You need to impress the king,” they explained. “Only those with great gifts to give will be allowed to live in the castle.” The people didn’t know the king. They just thought all kings wanted to be impressed.

“There are times when I just want to be their father.”

Where can you get this book: Barnes and Noble

~

Title:  Because I Love You

My Rating:  3

Summary: Shaddai built a nice village for children, he also built a wall to protect them from the dangerous forest. Paladin, a very curious little boy finds a hold and eventually crawls through, but when he returns the hole is gone.

My Favorite Quotes: His giant heart had a hundred strings–each held by a different child and Shaddai loved each one the same.

Where can you get this book: Amazon

Thank you for your thoughts they are greatly appreciated! Please keep in mind Ephesians 4:29: Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.