Book Review – Teddy’s Button

 

Title: Teddy’s Button
Author: Amy Le Feuvre
Date Started: May 5, 2014

Other Works by Author:
Bulbs and Blossums
Probable Sons
Jill’s Red Bag
The Carved Cupboard
For a more complete list see this page on Paperback swap here.

Genres: Children

My Rating: 4

 

Summary: Teddy is a lively boy who tends to be the center of any mischief. His favorite thing to do is tell the story of his father’s button, the only button left on his coat when he died in battle saving his colors. But one day Nancy shows up and declares that the story isn’t true and the button is silly, she and Teddy have several fights about it. When one of their fights occurs in church Teddy is called to the pastors house for tea where he learns what it means to be a soldier in God’s army. From then on he struggles to defeat the enemy inside himself which he calls Ipse, and hold up the banner of love to everyone.

 

My Thoughts: The story is very sweet and has many good lessons. The struggle with our sin nature is a very real battle that everyone has.
The story leans more toward decision salvation instead of election but It’s a worthy read.

 

My Favorite Quotes:
There was a pause, then Teddy said eagerly, ‘Please, sir, you said you would show me one of the enemies I have got to fight.’
‘Ah! did I? One of the many–which one, I wonder?’
‘”A real live one,” you said.’
‘Yes, I remember. Come this way.’
He led the child into his drawing-room in front of a large mirror reaching down to the ground, and told him to find his enemy there.
‘Why, it’s only myself!’ Teddy said in a disappointed tone, though there was wonder in his eyes.
‘That’s it–yourself—small Teddy Platt is your worst enemy, and the older you live the more you will discover what a very formidable and mighty enemy he is.’
Teddy – I think I shall sometimes let Ipse have his way. Will that be deserting to the enemy?
Mr. Upton – It will be sure and certain defeat.
Teddy – But then, of course, my Captain won’t let me be beaten, if I stick close to Him.

 

Where can you get this book: Amazon, Lamplighter

Thank you for your thoughts they are greatly appreciated! Please keep in mind Ephesians 4:29: Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

